Interactive Notebooks in the TPRS Classroom: Basics

I thought I knew what Interactive Notebooks were. Then I did a lot of research for this post and realized I didn’t know as much as I thought I did. (Check out this wiki for some great materials and ideas!) Here are the basics:

An Interactive Notebook is a literal notebook AND a method of organizing said notebook.

The purpose behind the Interactive Notebook is:

  • to keep students’ notebooks and brains organized
  • to keep students engaged in their learning process every day
  • to get students thinking about their learning and giving them the tools to go deeper in their learning
  • to provide accountability and consistency for the students AND the teacher

On a daily basis, students will enter class, open their notebooks and start their warm-up, or, ‘In’ on the top left side of the paper. I call it a Campanada in my class. Students will write the Day and the Date and their learning objectives for the day. Here is what they see:

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 2.48.49 AM

The left side of the notebook is only for the In and the Out.

The Through (or, in my class, En Clase) is where students take notes, synthesize information or paste handouts/notes. The right side of the notebook is for the Through/En clase. One of my goals for this year is to create engaging Throughs using Thinking Maps so students can visualize their learning. Here is my sample Through:

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 2.49.03 AM

The Out (salida) is the closure for the day. I use the Salida as a formative assessment. Here is the Out/Salida.

Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 2.49.12 AM

I will follow up in the next post about setting up the Interactive Notebook.

*If you would like a copy of the Flipcharts that I create in ActivInspire, don’t hesitate to message me!

2 thoughts on “Interactive Notebooks in the TPRS Classroom: Basics

  1. I teach 7th and 8th Spanish too and I’m thinking about using interactive notebooks, are you still using them? How did they work with TPRS? I love the timed writing scatter plot idea also!

    Like

    1. To be honest, I am not using Interactive Notebooks as well as I should be. I am using them for the ‘in’ and ‘out’ every day but I do not always get to a ‘through’ because our class is more verbal than written. I think it is a good organizational tool for middle school students to learn how to take notes and find them later! If you have any ideas about how you incorporate them in your class, I’d love to hear them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

