Class Organization: Teacher Utility Totes!

Last year, I had a system using turn-in trays for each of my 6 classes and one majorly messy inbox. I would have to leave my room during my plan period and it was always a gamble if I could make it through the bustling hallways carrying my overflowing inbox, clipboard, coffee and computer without losin’ it!

Also, I’ve been using the same backpack for the last 7 years and I thought it was time to move on.

This year, I will be using a Teacher Utility Tote!

UtilityTote11

I got this idea from Pinterest, this blog post and a few other blogs about these Thirty-one brand bags. (I didn’t understand how to order with Thirty-one so I bought a slightly defective bag on eBay.)

I bought two portable file boxes from the Container Store and hanging folders from Office Depot. One of the boxes will be used for handouts: one folder for each day of the week. Absent students can find the day they missed and pick up any handouts. At the end of the week, I will put extras into the back folders until the end of the grading period. The other box will be used for Turn-in and Graded work; two folders for each class.

Now I can carry my files, felt-tipped pens, my self-inking stamps, post-its, clip boards, to-be graded work and my computer in one hand, and my coffee in the other! …and stop wearing my old backpack to school every day.

One thought on “Class Organization: Teacher Utility Totes!

Leave a Reply

