Listen & Draw, then Write

I was so inspired by Michael Coxon’s post on a few techniques for implementing ACTFL’s modes of communication as a way to assess students’ knowledge.

As he wrote: “I add language and details relevant to my audience based on prior knowledge, the level of class, and specific sport teams where we live.  Because of the one-way communication, I often hear students say. “Is this a test?” Students are not permitted to stop and ask questions for this one.  The one-way communication or dictation lasts 1-3 minutes for each part and then I ring the bell indicating the time to start drawing for each box (dictate, ring, and draw, dictate, ring, and draw…).”

The day after we finished storyasking, I dictated the story with extra details. And just as Michael Coxon did, I dictated, rang a bell, and the students drew.

Then came the output: students captioned each picture with 4 sentences or more. I graded their writing based on the ACTFL levels of proficiency rubric created by Martina Bex.

I am using Martina Bex’s “Las novias de mi hermano” Unit. The target words are “tiene una novia” “su hermano” “va a” and “está enojado”.

Here are 2 examples of Spanish 1A students (middle school, first-year Spanish students). I was amazed that the majority of students were at this level.

IMG_2599 IMG_2600

IMG_2607 IMG_2608

 

One thought on “Listen & Draw, then Write

Leave a Reply

