3 Differentiated Readings for Bex Unit 8

Differentiated Readings:

When it comes to reading, we continue to use these differentiation strategies and they work very well. But last week, I wanted to challenge my students to read independently and use their resources to decipher a past-tense text. We have used the past tense before and done pop-up grammar with it, but I have not targeted it.

I created these 3 levels of readings based on the story we created in class. It is called Nacho Libre busca nachos and it is using Martina Bex’s Búscalo vocabulary. Students self-selected into 1 of 3 categories based on a mini-quiz at the beginning of class and their own judgement.

Level 1: Students who want the MOST support.
nacho libre busca nachos 1 docx
Nacho Libre busca nachos 1 pdf

All new phrases are highlighted and translated on the side of the page. Comprehension questions are drawn straight from the text.

Level 2: Students who are content with the amount of support.
nacho libre busca nachos 2 docx
nacho libre busca nachos 2 pdf

All new phrases are highlighted and identified on the side of the page, but not translated. If students cannot decipher them, they can find a hint card on the board with the translation on the back.
Some comprehension questions require more inference.

Level 3: Students who want more of a CHALLENGE.
nacho libre busca nachos 3 docx
nacho libre busca nachos 3 pdf

All new phrases are highlighted in the reading but they are not identified on the side of the page and not translated.
Comprehension questions are more open-ended and require more inference.

Throughout all readings, high frequency verbs are bolded, a strategy I stole from Mike Peto.

Students read on their own for 8 minutes, did an airplane/volleyball reading, then came back to their leveled groups to answer the questions. As they did the airplane reading, I was impressed because, no matter the level, they were all able to translate the reading accurately.
hqdefault

I also created a storyboard for this story for my students to retell. Storyboardthat.com is perfect for creating cartoons for each unique story!
Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 2.48.08 PM
ch 8 speaking nacho libre storyboard

You are more than welcome to use any of these resources! I do not own the rights to these Nacho Libre pictures and I strongly encourage you to use the Búscalo unit from Martina!

3 thoughts on “3 Differentiated Readings for Bex Unit 8

  1. Hi Lauren,
    THESE ARE AMAZING RESOURCES! With intentional capital letters. Thank you. One question: do you have an example or directions for a flow map? How do you teach that? I LOVE the WBT + TPRS mix. I have been trying to wrap my head around how to use them both.

    Like

  2. Love love love this! It is my first year teaching so I am pulling all that I can from others! Your blog has been so helpful:) I check it frequently after watching you present last year at SWCOLT!

    I just have one question, what is the hint card you mention?

    Like

    1. Congratulations are embarking this journey of teaching! I will put cards around the room with words that I think will be difficult for them. On the other side of the card is the translation. They can see the Spanish, but have to go over and peek on the back side of the card to find the English.

      Like

Leave a comment